Name Change & a New Year!

It’s time for a little revamping in 2015! Formerly “Zeke’s Adventures” will now be known as “Sled Dog in the City”!!!! I’ve wanted to change the name for a long time now but couldn’t think of anything good. I think Sled Dog in the City is catchy and it gets the main point across. It IS possible to have a sled-type dog or other high energy breed of dog in an urban environment if you are willing to put in the work. Everyone says huskies do not make good apartment dogs. In general that is probably true, but Zeke is living proof that not only is it possible but you can have a thriving, healthy, happy, balanced dog even in a studio apartment! It takes a lot of time, training, exercise, and sacrifice (on the part of the owner!)

When I made the decision to adopt a dog 4 years ago, I was looking for a medium-ish (30lbs) sized dog. I was not in a rush, I was determined to find a dog that fit my lifestyle. Sometimes these things don’t work out the way you plan. Zeke was about to be dropped off at a shelter and Doug and I panicked and snatched him up. I have no doubt Zeke would have become the typical, large, energetic puppy being bounced from home to home. He was TROUBLE and a very nervous dog. Shelter life would not have been good for him. I am thankful every day that we had the opportunity to adopt Zeke, but I also think about all of the ways my life has changed because of him. I became a runner and all that that entails, and had to take up camping as a way of vacationing because there are few people whom I would trust to leave him with (because of his energy.) He is expensive, time consuming, and a little annoying at times. Don’t get me wrong, I love him and wouldn’t change a thing about him. What a challenge the last 4 years have been. I am so proud to be his owner, he has turned into a beautiful, athletic, balanced dog. But the amount of work it took- WOW.

This year we will continue in our adventures: running, camping, a raw food diet, & training. The main focus of “Sled Dog in the City” for 2015 will be exploring 52 (one for each week of the year) parks, beaches, & green spaces both in NYC and within driving distance from the city. Because a main point of Sled Dog in the City is not only exploring and finding “natural” spaces within the city but also rewarding your dog with time outside of the busy urban environment.

My minimum running mileage goal for this year is 750 miles. Got 4 miles down with the pup today! Enjoy a few year’s end & year beginning pictures and a video of Zeke discovering a frozen pond. Happy new Year to all!

~ by manicivy on January 1, 2015.

3 Responses to “Name Change & a New Year!”

  1. I love the name change! Also love the vide of Zeke on the ice. He’s in his element. You two are lucky to have found each other! All the best in 2015 (from me and Kobi).

  2. Happy new year to you, Zeke and all the crew!

  3. Love the new name! Zeke looks like such a grown up in these pictures.

Leave a Reply

 
