Well, Now I’ve REALLY been neglecting the blog.

I apologize for this. And I wish everyone Happy Holidays!!!!!

There has been much keeping me from the blog but I plan on picking it back up in the New Year. I am going to try to at least do one written post a week and keep up with some pictures, videos, and website links in addition to that. I am thinking of changing the blog name. I am undecided between “Zeke’s Week” & “Sled Dog in the City” What do you think?

There were good and bad things that have kept me from blogging as often. My mom got really sick around Thanksgiving and was in the hospital for a week. She is out now but will be going through chemo over the next few months. I also learned a new section at the zoo and have been working with bison and peccary and pudu, oh my! It is a lot of walking and picking up hundreds of pounds of bison poop (;  I’m getting a killer core & upper body workout. Which helped me prepare for….

My half marathon!!!! I did the Holiday Half in Brooklyn December 13th. It was a cold windy day and my time was 2:21:47. I was floored with that, 8 minutes faster than last year’s half. I ran only slightly higher mileage overall this year. I think I just trained smarter with more progression, tempo and fartlek runs. Last year I ran about 550 miles (about 500 with Zeke). This year I will end with about 570, I was hoping to at least surpass 600 but I have had some swelling in my foot-not sure if from running or work-related so I am taking this week off from running so that I can start off 2015 injury free. Next year’s goal is 750 miles. Now that I know Zeke can accompany me on longer runs, the plan is to keep up with 8-10 milers once a week over the winter.

This year my only race was the half. Next year I plan on a 5k or two, a 10k or 2, a half in the spring and a half next December & maybe one dog friendly race?! That would be great. What’s everyone’s running goals for next year?

I apologize for being away, I have been reading everyone’s posts though!

Here is a lil video of Zeke wearing his jingle bells trying to bring some holiday cheer on a dark, dreary night next to a busy boulevard.

~ by manicivy on December 24, 2014.

5 Responses to “Well, Now I’ve REALLY been neglecting the blog.”

  1. Sleigh bells! I love it! I’m going to get some for my boys next year…
    Can I vote for ‘Sled Dog in the City’? I think it’s an awesome name for your blog!
    Merry Christmas to you and Zeke 🙂

    • Thanks! The sleigh bells collar was only 5$, a good deal. I’m leaning toward Sled Dog in the City too. Merry Christmas to you and your pups! Happy running!

  2. Merry Christmas to you!! I think it’s great to have an active offline life.. and wishes for your family to be all hale and hearty in the new year! 🙂

  3. Love Sled Dog in the City! Those bells are awesome that Zeke was wearing. Congrats on your half marathon too. You should definitely do a dog friendly race, those are a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

 
