You Know Your Dog Has Matured When…

  • He runs faster on the return loop than going out (because he knows dinner is coming!)
  • He runs by other dogs & only looks, no lunging!! big breakthrough!

Zeke and I celebrated National Running Day by running 4.06 miles in 42:48, pretty quick for us, (not counting a 1 minute break at the end of each mile- VERY humid today for Zeke so I gave him walk/water breaks) around the cemetery and Juniper park.

It is also my 11th straight day running of at least a mile a day. Happy to say no shin pain!

Happy Running Day to my running friends!

~ by manicivy on June 4, 2014.

4 Responses to “You Know Your Dog Has Matured When…”

  1. Yay!

  2. Well done on the running…walking’s enough for me 🙂
    I was wondering if you could give any advice for keeping weight on an extremely active dog? One of the dogs I walk is a super active Pointer. He is new to his owners, although I have known them a while now, and they lead a really active lifestyle, running, cycling and so on. And even on his walks he doesn’t just stroll along! Since he’s taken on this new lifestyle he is losing weight, I just wondered how you deal with Zeke running alot and so on 🙂 I’ll send them the link to your blog too, as it’ll probably be of interest to them 🙂

    • hey there! Sounds like the perfect family for a pointer! How old is he? I only get the chance to weigh Zeke once or twice a year, so I adjust his diet based on his appearance and activity level. Since I feed him raw, he’s supposed to get 2-3% of his body weight per day. For his weight, 72ish lbs., he should get roughly 1.5-2lbs a day. I do leave him a cup of kibble in the morning to eat if he needs it in addition to his main raw diet. (Some days he will, some not-he is good at self regulating.) If we have a week of higher mileage or extra trips to the dog park I have no problem giving him a 5lb chicken to eat over 2 days. Then I just go back to his regular amounts. I also don’t worry about giving him treats-especially a kong with frozen peanut butter and raw marrow bones. Chicken broth added to his water or even frozen for a treat adds a few more calories too! Hope this helps!

      • Thanks for getting back to me 🙂

        He’s a year old, and he does fit in great with them 🙂 Zeke’s diet sounds tasty! Lucky pup 🙂

        I hope you don’t mind, I’ll probably send his owners the link to this post so they can take it all in 🙂 Thanks for the food/calorie tips too!

Leave a Reply

 
