A Change in Our Running Goals

Hi there! I have now been at my new job just over 2 weeks & I am LOVING it. I am really enjoying working in the farm area with cows, chickens, goats, sheep, ducks, hogs, etc.! I am getting a killer upper body workout every day. I am starting to get into a groove with my schedule and much shorter commute. I have been doing lots of thinking and have decided on some different running goals for myself and Zeke.

I’m ditching a time or distance goal and going instead for consistency. Runners World is having a 40 day running streak (with at least a mile a day from Memorial Day to July 4th) so I have decided to go for that. I have no races planned this year other than a possible half in September or December. Now that I have to work weekends again I won’t be able to get time off anyway for any races, so it gives me some leeway in that I don’t have to train for anything specific. I basically just want to become more consistent with my running and my running with Zeke.

So my plan is: the 3 weekdays I have work I’ll do 2-3 miles, in the morning before I leave, with Zeke. Saturday & Sunday I will run commute at least one way, possibly both. Sometimes I will pick up Zeke in the evening to extend my run another few miles. My 2 days off, one will be a rest day (1 treadmill mile) and the other I hope to continue Zeke’s and my 5 mile roundtrip run to the big beach dog run. So right now I want to keep my base up, it will be getting hot soon anyway and I don’t do well with summer running.  My weekly mileage minimum will be 18 miles with this plan. In the past as soon as I set running goals (even easy, attainable ones) I get discouraged and start hating running. So by not focusing so much on mileage I am going to focus on going out every day and having fun, exercising Zeke, & getting us into a running routine. In the fall I will start adding in longer runs again and training for something specific. I would like to either do the Frozen Bonsai half again or the Queens half, which is new this year! It’s so nice to have the time to wake up and go for a run when I would normally be having to leave for work!

~ by manicivy on May 28, 2014.

2 Responses to “A Change in Our Running Goals”

  1. Good sensible goals for you and Zeke!

  2. Sounds like a good plan!

Leave a Reply

 
