Planning another Road Trip!

I have the first week of February off-yay vacation time!!! Doug is taking a few days off too. We are planning to drive down to southern Virginia to visit family and do some exploring! Usually we stay with my wonderful Aunt and Uncle who also welcome Zeke with open arms (all of my family down there are dog lovers!). This time we are going to stay at a dog-friendly hotel, which also has a pool that Doug and I plan on frequenting.

I LOVE visiting Virginia. The whole state is so beautiful and dog friendly and there are so many things to do there. It is full of history which Doug loves and full of large parks which I love! All of the battlefields are dog friendly, as are the villages of Williamsburg & Jamestown! Of course, dogs are not allowed in any buildings, but I’m still amazed they are allowed to walk around town. This works out great as Doug can check out the museums while I go walking/running with Zeke outside!

There is also a beautiful 5 mile running trail, the Noland Trail in Newport News. I was there once in my late teens with my Dad-he ran the whole thing and I did about 2 miles. I am excited to know I am capable of running the whole trail now! It has 14 bridges and follows the outline of Lake Maury. Here is the website: Noland Trail info.

and here is the link saying Historic Jamestown is dog friendly!  Jamestown pet policy

 

The last time we were there, when Zeke was about 1 1/2y.o., we took him to the Yorktown Battlefield. I’d like to go back there also! Here are some pics:

~ by manicivy on January 19, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
