Working on Turtle Calm

I can trust Zeke with the turtles out now. I don’t go far, but I can leave the room for a few minutes and not worry. My one turtle, Bowser, just goes in a dark corner and hides. Murtagh, the slightly older one, is more social and tries to follow me around and will crawl right up to Zeke. Zeke usually recoils in disgust if Murtagh actually touches him. Funny how its ok for Zeke to nose at Murtagh but when the tables are turned….

Zeke originally would bark, pounce, and swat at the turtles. Positive reinforcement & desensitization works wonders given a little bit of time.

ignoring the turtle (only because I'm watching)

ignoring the turtle (only because I’m watching)

Zeke is a friend of turtles

Zeke is a friend of turtles

 

~ by manicivy on January 9, 2014.

One Response to “Working on Turtle Calm”

  1. Reblogged this on my nature & animal photos and commented:
    .

Leave a Reply

 
