Ruffwear Roamer Leash

wearing the ruffwear roamer leash & Zeke doing a PERFECT "look"!

wearing the ruffwear roamer leash & Zeke doing a PERFECT “look”!

I bought this leash because on the last 2 camping trips we took I had to bring waaaay too many kinds of leashes for Zeke. haha. He has 4 or 5 leashes now and I wanted to be able to combine the use of some of them. I think its a little crazy to have that many, but different situations warrant different lengths & types of leash! But the Ruffwear Roamer leash has solved that problem!

In the past, I bring Zeke’s regular 6 foot leash, 12 foot tie out, and either 50foot training lead or 16ft. extendable leash when we go camping. If I want to run with him while camping add on the canicross belt system. The tie-out is used for (obviously) tethering him at the campsite-that will always be needed. The regular leash is when we need more control when walking; the 50foot lead is for when we want to play fetch and allow him in the lake, and the 16ft. extendable when we hike to give him some wandering room, but not get tangled in the trees which would happen if we used the 50foot. It would be really nice if we could just trust him off-leash but alas Huskies are not always that reliable. (Another post for another time.)

The Ruffwear Roamer solves all of this. It is a durable, long leash of 6.5 ft. It has the bungee feature for almost the entire length of it allowing it to stretch up to 11.5 ft! It has a, what I call, “traffic control” handle right where you clip it to the collar or harness. And, finally, it has a soft-rimmed handle part that can be extended to hook around your waist as a hands free leash! It is basically 3 leashes in one. I will have much less to pack at the next camping trip. I have already ran with Zeke using it and it was fantastic-strong enough for his occasional chasing a squirrel. The bungee is strong and it extends to a belt from the wrist holder quickly and easily-I actually did it as we started to run. We also used it to explore Little Bay Park the other day and it was perfect to allow Zeke some extra room to explore or throw the ball as we walked. There is an extra loop of material that is perfect for hooking your poop-bag holder to. I highly recommend this multi-use leash, it also comes in several different colors, the forest green being my favorite!

5 out of 5 paws!

Here is a link to Ruffwear’s site: http://www.ruffwear.com/The-Roamer-Leash-trade_5

~ by manicivy on August 15, 2013.

15 Responses to “Ruffwear Roamer Leash”

  1. We love the Roamer. Ours has no bungee left to it, but that might make me like it even better.

    • Haha! I didn’t realize that is what leash you use! I think I did see the ez- walker harness in one of your pictures? Am I right?

      • We do use the easy walk harness. Sam’s first owner never took her outside, so it was recommended from out trainer first and then we just never bothered to learn to walk on a flat collar. I like that is it minimal, especially in hot weather.

      • I forgot how similar Sam and Zeke’s stories are…he was never taken out either until we got him at 7 months. The ez walk harness was the only thing that worked…I’ve tried getting him to walk on the collar but he is still too unpredictable to do it regularly.

      • That is strange how similar their stories are. We got Sam at 6 months from her first owner and he told us she lived in a crate for 20 hours a day. At least they were both given to better homes!

      • Wow! Amen to that (;

      • 20 hours a day that is crazy! Zeke was confined to a kitchen with a little dogthat was chained to one crate that they shared. I feel bad they didn’t give up that little dog. Sam and Zeke are living the life now!

  2. We love ruff wear products too!

  3. Very cool! I might look into getting one of these for Oswald. Rupert can go off leash, but Oswald (part Husky…) is too unpredictable!

  4. This looks like an awesome leash! I think Millie and I might have to give it a try 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
