Todays featured outing: Forest Park!

Well, it has been over 2 weeks since the last time Zeke and I ran at Forest Park. And, I will admit, I was debating whether or not I felt safe enough to go. I just really didn’t feel like running on pavement again and I wanted to really enjoy my time running after my race yesterday. It was also much warmer out and I knew Zeke would be cooler on the trails.

We decided to go for it! We walked a half mile to warm up and then ran to the park. We met the usual assortment of people…lone runners, couple runners, dogs off leash and on, friendly dog owners, unknowledgeable dog owners (a lady who said Zeke was too “big” to play with her 4 mo. LAB puppy…does she realize how big that puppy will get?!). We also saw a nice horse rider who seemed to be on a more skiddish horse, so he let his horse practice being around dogs (Zeke) and I got to allow Zeke to get a little closer to a horse! We were about 10 feet away and able to mostly-calmly walk by.

At about mile 2.5? we again saw horses coming towards us so I put Zeke in a sit on the shoulder of the trail. As they passed I had a few tears of joy…they were mounted police! We said hello to each other and then I thanked them for patrolling the park. They replied no problem! I felt such a relief seeing them. We ran into them again later on and they asked questions about Zeke and remarked what a playful, good looking guy he was. (; 

After 6 miles and about an hour and a half of being outside we are back home and guzzling water!

~ by manicivy on April 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
