I owe it all to Zeke!

I love this damn dog! Thanks to my training with him I hit my goal of a sub-30minute 5k. Not only did I hit it, I smashed it! New 5k PR……*drum roll* 26:44!!!!!!! I’m ecstatic! I felt great and ran it with friends around the beautiful Bronx Zoo. Knowing I had raised money to help out elephants spurred me on too! So did the (easily-running) guy who said to his (extremely labored-breathing) friend at about 2.5miles “its all mental now, you just have to do it for the elephants.” Love that kid, he really helped me too!

I wanted a dog because I wanted to be more active and come out of my “shy shell.” Well, it worked. I’ve made tons of friends. I went from not being able to run a mile without several walking breaks to my new 5k PR! Not only am I more active, but my crazy hyper dog  is calmer. His owners couldn’t handle him and a huge part of that was he needed proper exercise. I’m so grateful that we were able to help out each other. I want more people to do this!

If you want to become more active, adopt a shelter dog and make it your running partner! Not only will you encounter less problems with your dog because he is receiving  a proper outlet for his energy but you will become healthier and happier as well! Even if you dont run and speed-walk over long distances, it’s a win-win for everyone! I love when I see or read about people going out there and being active with their dogs. Its not possible for everyone, but if it is, do it, the rewards are amazing!

~ by manicivy on April 27, 2013.

One Response to “I owe it all to Zeke!”

  1. YES! Bravo!!

Leave a Reply

 
