When it rains, it pours, and my umbrella is littered with holes.

This month has been terrible. I try to be a positive person, but this month really sucked. It all started with Doug’s family’s porch cat, “Sad Sam” dying. A few days later his 14 year old iguana died suddenly. A few days after that we learned Doug’s mom has cancer and she is now undergoing all kinds of tests and not taking it too well. A few days after that Doug’s uncle died. After returning from a run I turned on the news to see the Boston bombing happening. Zeke tore a paw pad and limped home with me. Last night Doug took Zeke for a walk because I came down with a migraine and a dog bit Zeke on the nose through a fence. When Doug tried to remove the dog from Zeke’s nose, he, too, got bit.

What the….? Really? Anything else you want to throw my way?

I was up most of the night being sick, literally, due to the migraine and I’m assuming stress.  I messaged a friend who is a dog trainer about what to do for both Zeke’s & Doug’s injuries. Luckily none of the bites were too bad and we are following her bite-cleaning protocol to prevent infection. On top of this I was supposed to run my first 5k of the season this morning. I finally fell asleep for good around 2am. My alarm went off at 7…I hadnt eaten in about 20 hours and had thrown up the food before that.

But I thought about my race…I was running in the PurpleStride at Riverside park, to raise money for pancreatic cancer research. My great grandma died from this cancer many years ago. It is painful and quick. I thought about what she went through and said to myself, “F*ck it, im running.” I took two trains and a bus with my wonderful supporter, my mom, to the race site. It was cold, I still hadnt eaten more than a few bites of oatmeal, I worried about the dog’s nose and Doug’s bitten hand. I headed to the start line well aware I would not hit my goal of under 30 mins. The course is hilly and has several hairpin turns. Last year I ran it in 37:40 or 50 something. Well, I finished in 32:30. Take that stress!!!!! I was very surprised I did that well, in my mind I killed it, the first mile i did in 9:50 and that was with the race start crowds and biggest, steepest hill of the course. At the end I did nearly puke again, but it was worth it. I’m so proud I even showed up. Now I’m chowing down on a chipotle burrito.

I really hope next month is better for all of us, everyone, everywhere. I’m going to the store to buy Zeke some pig ears to gnaw on. At least I have a 4 day weekend to recuperate with Doug and Zeke. ❤ my family. Persevere. Never give up. Never surrender.

Luckily it looks more scraped than anything else.

Luckily it looks more scraped than anything else.

not an easy run but at least I showed up

not an easy run but at least I showed up

~ by manicivy on April 20, 2013.

9 Responses to “When it rains, it pours, and my umbrella is littered with holes.”

  1. Obviously, I don’t “like” to hear these things, but I “liked” in support. Best wishes to you and yours -BB

  2. Wow Gretchen, that is a lot on your plate in one month. Please give Doug our best, we are so sorry about his mom and his pets. We will pray for a full recovery for his mom.
    You did very well on race especially with all you have had to deal with and being sick. Love you ❤

  3. Sending lots of blessings your way! Good for you for running, despite everything that’s going on. Yay, rock star! Aggie says ‘woof’.

  4. Well done you for having a can do attitude and kicking ass at the run! I am running my first ever 5k in June and will be happy if I do it in under 45mins 😉 I hope Zeke and Doug aren’t to traumatised and Zeke continues to improve with his skittishness. Enjoy your 4 day weekend x

  5. I’m sorry you such a rough time! Good job pushing through it and running the race!

Leave a Reply

 
